Getting Started With Sencha Touch 2 on Windows 7 (x64)

… or how I almost gave up in frustration, but managed to get things to work.

So in playing around with PhoneGap, I kept seeing references to Sencha Touch.  So I decided to try out Sencha Touch 2 , which, incidentally, now has the ability to generate native packaging for inclusion of your apps in the app store!

So I went to their site, watched a video or two and went ahead and downloaded the SDK. I also downloaded the SDK Tools. All good. Now it was just  a matter of following the instructions and generating my first skeleton app.

“Oh, this looks pretty easy. I’ll go ahead and put Sencha near my Visual Studio Projects:  C:\Users\Sasha\Documents\Visual Studio 2010\sencha-touch-2.0.0-commercial . Then just run a command from the command prompt and generate the skeleton app.”

The first step is to ensure the SDK Tools installed correctly by typing the sencha command. The documentation says I should see something like:

And I got:

“The bin was unexpected at this time? What?”

I found some people talking about this error on the forums. It affects Windows 7 (x64) users. The SDK Tools are installed under Program Files (x86) instead of Program Files. As suggested, I uninstalled SDK Tools and then reinstalled, changing the installation directory to Program Files. I also saw mention that the sencha command should be run under the command folder within the Sencha SDK.

“OK. Should work now.”

“jsdb is not recognized? Oh boy.”

So looking at the forums some more, I saw other Windows users complaining that the “Getting Started” instructions, which are on a Mac, don’t match the Windows “experience”. I found a post that mentioned running the sencha batch file in the command folder by executing “command\sencha” from the root of the SDK.

“Oh this is starting to look promising.”

And finally, I tried to execute the command to generate the skeletop app:

“Wooo Hoooo!”

References:

Error: \SenchaSDKTools-2.0.0-Beta\bin\ was unexpected at this time.
sencha sdk tools 2 beta not working on windows 7 64bit
Sencha Touch 2 SDK Tools “generate app” confusion

12 thoughts on “Getting Started With Sencha Touch 2 on Windows 7 (x64)

  1. Thanks for sharing your experiences and workarounds – the SDK Tools are very much in beta at the moment but we’ll be putting out a new release that addresses these issues on Win 7 in the next week or so. It should give you a much smoother experience 🙂

  2. Oh man, thank you so much for this clear structured workaround! Found it through the sencha forum. This terrible issue has driven me crazy…

    Best regards,
    Andi

  3. Did you then try running the app generated – because all I get is the “wait” screen – i.e. 3 blue dots forever & ever. I then contacted Sencha and they said it does not support Windows 7 which is crazy!

Leave a Reply

